Hours Today: 1:30pm – 9pm

Colin Jose Media Award

The Colin Jose Media Award was created to honor the contributions of members of the print and electronic media, including reporters, columnists, authors, broadcasters, editors, public/media relations professionals and others who specialize in communications with respect to soccer in the United States.

Amy Rosenfeld

2024 Colin Jose Media Award Winner

Over a 25-year career as a freelancer and employee of ESPN, Amy Rosenfeld was instrumental in the company’s critically acclaimed coverage of the Men’s and Women’s World Cups, serving as the lead producer for every single tournament from 1999 to 2014. She also led ESPN’s coverage of three UEFA European Football Championships and oversaw ESPN’s coverage of the English Premier League from 2011 to 2013.

The Emmy Award winner will be honored May 4 at the National Soccer Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony in Frisco, Texas. The ceremony also will feature the induction of the Hall of Fame’s 2024 Class: Tim Howard, Francisco Marcos, Josh McKinney and Tisha Venturini-Hoch.

Read the Release

2023 Colin Jose Media Award Winner

Grant Wahl was named the recipient of the 2023 Colin Jose Media Award, which honors journalists whose careers have made significant long-term contributions to soccer in the United States. Wahl was honored during the 2023 National Soccer Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony in Frisco, Texas. Wahl left an indelible legacy on American soccer, helping to grow the game through high-quality, insightful coverage with Sports Illustrated, Fox Sports, CBS Sports and his own Fútbol with Grant Wahl platform. He passed away in December at age 49 while covering the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar.


Growing the Game Through Media

The Colin Jose Media Award is named for Colin Jose, Historian Emeritus of the National Soccer Hall of Fame and the preeminent soccer historian of North America. Jose, like the other honorees of this award, have made outstanding contributions to American soccer through various forms of media.

  • 2023: Grant Wahl

    A renowned international journalist, Wahl was an ubiquitous presence at World Cups, Women’s World Cups and Olympics, providing a passionate, unique perspective on the sport at its highest levels.

  • 2020: Andres Cantor

    Known the world over for his iconic “GOOOOOOL!” call, Cantor's career spans more than 35 years of covering soccer at the highest level.

  • 2019: Tony Quinn

    A native of England, Quinn has had photography assignments in 54 different countries and territories.

Colin Jose Media Award Winners

By Year

2023: Grant Wahl, Journalist

2020: Andres Cantor, Telemundo Deportes Broadcast Talent

2019: Tony Quinn, Photojournalist

2018: JP Dellacamera, FOX Sports and other broadcasters

2017: Jim Trecker, Media Relations

2016: Paul Kennedy, Soccer America Print Media

2013: George Vecsey, New York Times Print Media

2012: Grahame Jones, Los Angeles Times Print Media

2010: Paul Gardner, Soccer America Print Media

2009: Alex Yannis, New York Times Print Media

2008: Ike Kuhns, Newark Star-Ledger Print Media

2007: George Tiedemann, Sports Illustrated Photography

2005: Seamus Malin, ESPN and other broadcasters

2004: Jerry Trecker, Hartford Courant Print Media

Experience Greatness Up Close

Visit the National Soccer Hall of Fame in Frisco, Texas, and witness history in person.

Get Tickets