Hours Today: 1:30pm – 9pm

Medal of Honor Awards

American Soccer has an illustrious history of builders, players and teams that brought the Beautiful Game to the masses. These individuals and teams went above and beyond to bring soccer into the national spotlight.

The Best of the Best

The Medal of Honor is the National Soccer Hall of Fame's most prestigious award. Given only four times in history, the Medal of Honor recognizes the commitment, vision, and determination of soccer's greatest builders and players. These extraordinary individuals changed the course of soccer in the United States.

Alan Rothenberg

1998 Medal of Honor Recipient

Alan Rothenberg revolutionized soccer in America. After overseeing the sport in the 1984 Olympic Games, Rothenberg served as U.S. Soccer's President for eight years. A steady, forward-thinking leader, Rothenberg ensured the success of the 1994 FIFA World Cup and guided the launch of Major League Soccer. Rothenberg was inducted into the National Soccer Hall of Fame in 2007.

Lamar Hunt

1999 Medal of Honor Recipient

An iconic sports visionary, Lamar Hunt left a profound impact on the sport of soccer in the United States. Hunt was an original investor in the North American Soccer League, founding the Dallas Tornado franchise in 1967. He was also one of the architects of Major League Soccer where he owned three teams — including FC Dallas — and built the first soccer-specific stadium in 1999. No single individual contributed more to the success of soccer in the United States than Lamar Hunt. Before receiving the Medal of Honor award, Hunt was inducted into the National Soccer Hall of Fame in 1982. 

Highest Honor in American Soccer

Lamar Hunt's Medal of Honor Award, pictured here with the Werner Fricker Award, is on display at the National Soccer Hall of Fame in Frisco, Texas, courtesy of the Lamar Hunt family. Each medal includes a personalized inscription on the back.

1991 U.S. Women's National Team

2001 Medal of Honor Recipients

Honored in 2001, The members of the 1991 U.S. Women's National Team won the first FIFA Women's World Cup — and etched their names into soccer history. The victory established the United States as a global powerhouse for women's soccer. Led by legendary soccer stars Michelle Akers, Mia Hamm and April Heinrichs, the team's strength, agility, and courage launched a new age in women's athletics. The 1991 World Cup roster would eventually include 11 players inducted into the National Soccer Hall of Fame.

Philip Anschutz

2006 Medal of Honor Recipient

When Major League Soccer sought early investors, Philip Anschutz was one of the first to commit to the new league. With MLS at a turning point in 2002, Anschutz became the owner of six teams and was a driving force in the league's continued development. His business acumen, entrepreneurial spirit, and commitment to the game have made American soccer a success. In the words of MLS Commissioner Don Garber, "There's no doubt that without Phil Anschutz, there's no MLS today." Anschutz was inducted into the National Soccer Hall of Fame in 2006.

Experience Greatness Up Close

Visit the National Soccer Hall of Fame in Frisco, Texas, and witness history in person.

Get Tickets